GC Rugby | 28.10.2015

Matchreport 24.10.15: RFC Basel FT - GC 2 22-39

On a dry Saturday morning Zürich 2nd Team made the short trip over to Basel for the match against Basel FT at their ground at Pruntrutermatte, for a 1300 sharp kick off.
The first half was a display of fluid, running rugby by Zürich showing great link up play between forwards and backs creating several chances in the opening phases of the game.
Zürich were soon rewarded for their aggressive open style of rugby with the mop-haired Alessandro Gambrotta diving over the line, with a pile of Zürich players for support to get the first points on the board. The ever-reliant forward kicker Yannick Liechti then added the 2 points making it, 0-7 to Zurich.
Basel managed to convert a penalty to bring the score to 3-7, and then Zürich really showed their quality and experience scoring 3 tries in quick succession. Dominic Moser raced over the line, with the points converted by Liechti, then Sama Fuimaono showed his well-known pace out wide to get himself a try, converted by Liechti and then Yannick Pingault also crossed the white-wash again converted by Liechti.  Finally before half time Germain Brunet powered over to score unconverted. Basel then got a converted try as the last phase of the half, making the score at the break 10-33 in favour of Zürich.  
The second half was a less hectic affair, with Liechti scoring 2 penalty kicks and Basel creating one converted and one unconverted try.  
The final score: Basel FT 22 – 39 GCZ 2nds
Zürich played some fantastic open rugby in the first half but let the concentration and intensity drop in the second half, a point to be improved upon if they are to continue their winning run in the league.
Special mention to Arsène Ljubenovic who played his debut for the club, and first ever game of competitive rugby!
1. Sama Fuimaono, 2. Simon Wood, 3. Christian Gut, 4. Alessandro Gambrotta,
5. Germain Brunet, 6. Johannes Rüegg, 7. Yannick Liechti, 8. Edmund Foster,
9. Phany Sok, 10. Florian Bezard, 11. Alessandro D’Amico, 12. Ben Rau,
13. Yannick Pingault, 14. Romain Kooger, 15. Dominic Moser, 16. Arnie Devine, 17. Henry Estermann, 18. Arsène Ljubenovic, 19. Robbie Walker,
20. Christian Strong, 21. Christian Strahm, 22. Jonas Wendler
“Coaching team” – 1. Shane Peters 2. Robbie Wishart 3. Ben Manser 4. Tom Pieth