GC Rugby | 05.04.2016

Matchreport April 3, 2016: GC 2 v Albaladejo Lausanne 19-19

The home of Grasshopper Club Zurich Rugby at Allmend Brunau was basked in sunshine for the much-anticipated clash with Albaladejo Lausanne on a sunny Sunday afternoon.

The game kicked off a little after 14.00 and it quickly became apparent this was going to be a tough physical contest.
The Zurich 2nd team were the first to cross the white wash with American Christian Strong diving over the line after excellent forwards play, with the conversion by Calvin Ulholz taking the score to 7-0.

The home team were using a dominant scrum in the first half to good use, but were not clinical enough with ball in hand to extend the lead. The remainder of the half was a close, physical affair with captain Eoghan Crawford being shown a yellow card before the half time whistle blew.

The 2nd half started again with a higher tempo from Zurich, and Germain Brunet finished off a try showing good link up play between forwards and backs, with Ulholz again converting to lead 14-0. However Alba had learned from the first half and with a few changes to their forwards started to win the scrummage battle. This advantage at the set piece showed with them scoring three tries in the second half, two converted to take the lead 14-19.

Zurich showed great team-spirit, determination and attitude to play to the final whistle and with the last phase of the game, Dominic Moser raced through the Alba defense for a try to balance the score at 19-19. The try went unconverted and the contest finished a draw.

The final score: GC Zürich 2nds 19 – 19 Albaladejo Lausanne

Albaladejo Lausanne must be congratulated for maintaining their unbeaten season so far. Zurich should be proud of their attitude and determination to wrestle back a draw with the last play of the match.

Special mention to Roland Kiszli playing his first game for the club and also to Norman Pedrini and Gian Bisaz for their first home matches in Zurich colours.

1 Sama Fuimaono, 2 Simon Wood, 3 Roland Kiszli, 4 Eoghan Crawford, 5 Ed Foster, 6 Germain Brunet, 7 Christian Strong, 8 James Pickering, 9 Oli Dias, 10 Calvin Ulholz, 11 Phany Sok, 12 Hugh Kisielewski, 13 Mathias Kauffman, 14 Markus Reugger, 15 Raph Lazime, 16 Henry Estermann, 17 Dominic Moser, 18 Norman Pedrini, 19 Arséne Ljubenovic, 20 Finlay Small, 21 John Mansfield, 22 Gian Bisaz