GC Rugby | 10.11.2015

Matchreport: GC 2 - RC Haute Broye 62-5

On an unseasonably warm and sunny Sunday November morning, Zurich 2nds welcomed Haute Broye to Allmend Brunau for their last game before the winter break.

The conditions were perfect for a game of running rugby, and the travelling Swedish referee got the match started with a 12.15 kick off.

Haute Broye started the game strongly and were camped out on the Zurich try line for the first 5 minutes of the game. The home team, wearing their new jerseys, defended admirably when needed and kept out the repeated attacks from the visitors before clearing their lines.

Zurich then began a phase of attacking play that would continue for the majority of the next 50 minutes of the contest. The first points of the match, came from a Germain Brunet try. Zurich then crossed the white line another 9 times without reply from the visitors. Tries were scored by Nico Sharenac, his first for the club, Eoghan Crawford, also his first for the club and Ed Foster, his first of the season. The “hat-trick heroes” were Shane Peter and Calvin Ulholz, who both scored 3 tries each.  From the boot, Robbie Wishart made 4 conversion kicks and Toma Montanari 2.

Towards the end of the match, bolstered by some familiar additions, Haute Broye came back into the bout, retaining the ball well for longer periods of time, and were rewarded with an unconverted try as the final points of the day.

The final score: GC Zürich 2nds 62 – 5 Haute Broye

Haute Broye must be congratulated for showing true sportsmanship and determination after making the long trip to play, by fighting for every ball until the final whistle, despite being several players down for the bulk of the match.

Arnie Devine and Ed Foster receive individual thanks for volunteering to make cameo appearances for Haute Broye.

Special mention to Dominik Arendt who played his senior debut for Zurich.

1. Nico Scharenac 2. John Mansfield 3. Kevin Loepfe 4. Arsène Ljubenovic 5. Eoghan Crawford 6. Germain Brunet 7. Hugo Grasset 8. Edmund Foster 9. Phany Sok 10. Calvin Ulholz 11. Dominik Arendt 12. Robbie Wishart 13. Shane Peter 14. Lawrence Visser 15. Stefan Matar 16. Dominic Kern 17. Toma Montanari 18. Arnie Devine 19. Christian Strahm